Pres. Arroyo to confer ‘Pagasa’ awards to top civil servants | SubicNewsLink

18 September 2008

Pres. Arroyo to confer ‘Pagasa’ awards to top civil servants

President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo will confer on Friday the “Pagasa” award to the country’s most outstanding civil servants, including a security officer here who was recognized for initiating innovative programs for the Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority’s law enforcement department.

Set to receive the Pagasa award under the individual category is SBMA Security Officer III Joel Viray, who was the first SBMA employee of the year awardee in 2006.

The awarding will be held at Malacañang’s Rizal Hall in commemoration of the 108th anniversary of Philippine Civil Service, said Civil Service Commission (CSC) chairman Ricardo Saludo in an announcement sent recently to the SBMA.

Viray will join five other individual awardees, among them a college president and two municipal mayors, who bested other regional finalists in the nationwide CSC search.

Saludo said the Pagasa award is conferred to individuals and groups for outstanding contributions resulting from an idea or performance that directly benefited more than one department of the government.

Six other Pagasa awardees under the group category will also be recognized during the Malacañang ceremony, along with winners in two other award categories: the “Lingkod Bayan” award, which is given for achievements with national impact on public interest, security and patrimony; and the “Dangal ng Bayan” award, for extraordinary acts and exemplary ethical behavior in public service.

Viray was earlier recognized, along with other Central Luzon finalists, by Saludo and CSC Region III director Karin Litz Zerna during an awards ceremony held at the King’s Royal Resort in Bacolor, Pampanga.

According to the CSC, the SBMA security officer earned the Pagasa award for his “dynamism and dedication in his work, which led to the improvement of security systems and processes” in the Subic Bay Freeport.

Viray’s innovations enhanced the operational efficiency of the SBMA Law Enforcement Department by streamlining the accreditation program for security officers, thus generating savings worth P1.2 million, the CSC citation added.

Along with Viray, the 2008 Pagasa awardees in the individual category are: Aleli C. Almodovar, general manager of the Isabela City Water District in Basilan, who was recognized for resurrecting a moribund company into a profitable utility; Dr. Philip B. Ibarra, president of the Tarlac College of Agriculture in Camiling, Tarlac, for his masterful stewardship of the college’s human capital; Froilan C. Roque, refinery officer IV of Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas in Quezon city, for innovativeness and ingenuity in the workplace; Mayor Noel R. Rosal of Legazpi City, Albay, for leading and inspiring his constituents in rebuilding the city that was devastated by typhoons in 2007; and Mayor Roque S. Verzosa Jr. of Tagudin, Ilocos Sur, for successfully implementing a blueprint for development.

Winners in the Pagasa group category, meanwhile, are: the Department of Agriculture-Cagayan Valley Integrated Agricultural Research Center’s Crop Improvement Group; Ilocos Norte Water District; the Pag-Ibig Fund branch in Butuan City, Agusan del Norte; the Tarlac College of Agriculture’s group for Promoting Commercialization of Sweet Potato-Clean Planting Materials; the “Buwis Balikatan sa Barangay” group of the Bulacan government’s Provincial Asessment and Treasury Office; and the UPLB Bee Program of the University of the Philippines at Los Baños. (SBMA Corporate Communications)