13 October 2016

SBMA Chairman Diño, other gov't appointees take their oath before Duterte

President Duterte swore into office Tuesday (Oct. 11) more than a hundred government appointees led by party mate Martin Diño as chair of the Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority and lawyer Amado Valdez as chair of the Social Security System.

Also sworn into office were Special Envoy of the President to the Middle East Roy Cimatu, Philippine Ambassador to Spain Philippe Lhuillier, Philippine Ambassador to Kenya Norman Garibay, Philippine Ambassador to Nigeria Shirley Ho-Vicario, Philippine Ambassador to Japan Jose Laurel V and Philippine Ambassador to Qatar Alan Timbayan.

Other new appointees were Agriculture undersecretary Bernadette Romulo-Puyat and Public and Works Highways undersecretary for legal affairs Karen Jimeno.

Several undersecretaries and assistant secretaries from the budget, education, foreign affairs, information and communication technology, interior and local government, defense, energy, finance, health, justice labor, science and technology trade, social welfare, tourism and transportation departments also took their oath before the President.

Duterte also administered the oath taking of the new officers of the League of Municipalities of the Philippines, a handful of judges and state prosecutors.

PHOTO: SBMA Chairman Martin Diño, along with other newly-appointed officials, at the mass oath-taking ceremony led by President Rodrigo Duterte in Malacañang. (screen grab from RTVM)