Cycling: SEA Games vets rule ITT | SubicNewsLink

15 January 2018

Cycling: SEA Games vets rule ITT

Mark Galedo, Marella Salamat and Jay Lampawog shone brightest among the country’s top guns of cycling by ruling the individual time trial (ITT) races of the Philippine National Cycling Championships for Road inside the Subic Bay Freeport.

Galedo clocked 43 minutes and 6.876 seconds to win the gold medal in the men’s ITT raced over a 31-km course, snatching in the process the coveted national champion’s jersey from the PhilCycling.

The former SEA Games gold medalist also banked the top purse of P50,000 from PRU Life UK, which bankrolled the PRUride ph 2018.

Galedo’s fellow national team members George Oconer and Rustom Lim completed the podium, finishing the race-against-the-clock race 19 and 30 seconds behind.

“I will proudly wear this jersey,” said Galedo, who, like all the other 25 riders who raced the ITT, had to pedal through Subic’s strong winds that rushed from almost all directions along the entire route.

Pru Life UK Senior Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer Allan Tumbaga, world top-ranked cyclist Filipino-American Coryn Rivera, Prudential PLC Head of Sponsorship Diane Pender and PhilCycling Secretary General Atty. Billy Sumagui awarded the prizes to the winners.

Salamat, the SEA Games ITT queen, was hardly challenged in her pet event and won the 21-km women’s race in 34:49.163. She also grabbed the P50,000 prize.

Taiwan’s Chng Ting Ting settled for the silver medal while Jermyn Prado, winner of the women’s road race last Friday, was third.

Lampawog, on the other hand, took the under-23 title, crossing the finish of the event also raced on the men’s course in 45:02.038. (Manila Bulletin)

Morales, Prado top elite races

Jan Paul Morales won a sprint finish against Ronald Oranza and Jermyn Prado won pulling away to rule the Philippine National Cycling Championships for Road over a technical and treacherous route Friday in Subic and Bataan.

A total of 96 riders answered the gun for the men’s elite race of the PhilCycling but it was Morales, a many-time national team member who emerged as one of the biggest winners of the event that awarded the coveted national champions’ jerseys to the victors.

“I really went for the win but I had to work hard for this one,” said Morales moments after his victory that earned him not only P50,000 in cash from organizer Pru Life UK but also an all-expense paid trip to the Prudential Ride London in July.

Morales clocked three hours, 42 minutes and 55 seconds – same time as Oranza –over the 137-km course that included a treacherous climb to the Dambana ng Mga Bayani at Mt. Samat in Mariveles, Bataan.

Felipe Marcelo and Jonel Carcueva figured in a race incident close to the Subic Bay Exhibition and Convention Center finish and shared third place in one of the races that highlight the PRUride PH 2018.

Oranza brought home P25,000 while Marcelo and Carcueva shared the third and fourth place prizes of P15,000 and P12,500, respectively.

Also earning tickets to London and R50,000 each were Prado and Men Under 23 winner Ismael Gorospe. (Tempo)


SBMA Deputy Administrator for Regulatory Group Atty. Ruel John Kabigting (left), signals the send off for cyclists participating in the Subic-leg of PRUride Ph 2018, said to be one of the biggest cycling events in the country at the Subic Bay Exhibition and Convention ground Friday. (AMD/MPD-SBMA)