03 February 2010

NAASCU crown to Lyceum (Subic)

Manila - LYCEUM of Subic Bay capped a memorable season by winning the National Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities (NAASCU) women’s volleyball title at the UM gym in Sampaloc, Manila

Led by Pearl Mamaril, Rosemarie Laodenio and Mae San Jose and handled by coach Chris Dumasig, Lyceum of Subic Bay brought down pre-tournament favorite San Sebastian College-Cavite, 25-19, 25-15, 22-25, 25-20, in their winner-take-all championship showdown.

The Subic Bay-based Lady Sharks swept the first two sets, faltered in the third set but recovered in time to beat the Lady Baycats in the grueling four-set encounter.

Mamaril was later voted as Most Valuable Player (MVP).

Laodenio emerged as top blocker, while San Jose wound up as top libero.

Lyceum and SSC-Cavite earned the right to meet in the championship by beating their respective semifinal opponents last week.

Lyceum slammed the door on Centro Escolar University, 25-17, 25-16, 15-25, 25-13, while SSC-Cavite eliminated AMA Computer University, 25-23, 25-16, 20-25, 25-14 to advance to the finals.

In the men’s division, University of Manila subdued St. Clare College-Caloocan, 25-22, 25-18, 25-15, while SSC-Cavite outlasted Centro Escolar University, 22-25, 25-11, 30-28, 25-17, to arrange a title showdown.

Last year’s MVP awardee Jet Bautista, R.R. Limpahan and Bernar Fernandez stood at the helm of the impressive showing of UM, which completed a four-game sweep of the five-team Group A during the elimination round.

The Hawks of coach Boyet del Moro posted their 15th straight wins dating back to 2007.

Mark Tabio, Ivan Reyes and Eugene de Ocampo carried the fight for the Reywell Francisco-mentored Baycats.

Tournament coordinator was Benjie Diswe. (People's Tonight)