30 March 2012

Subic Bay hosts 2012 Commodore’s Cup Regatta on April 10-14

Thirty international yachts will set sail in Subic Bay on April 10-14 to vie for glory in the Fifth Commodore’s Cup Regatta 2012, one of the most prestigious sailing events in the Philippines.

The event, which is under the auspices of the Philippine Sailing Commission, will involve international yachting teams from the United States, Australia, Hong Kong, Singapore, Malaysia, and host country Philippines.

The Commodore’s Cup this year was officially commissioned recently with the signing of a memorandum of agreement for sponsorship between the organizer Subic Bay Yacht Club (SBYC), represented by general manager Jose Maria Vargas, and sponsors PLDT, represented by vice president Renato Castañeda; Subictel and Clarktel, represented by president Dennis Magbatoc; Lighthouse Marina, represented by president Jesus Avecilla, who is also chairman of the Saturday Afternoon Gentlemen Sailing Club; Watercraft Ventures, represented by president Federico Sandoval II; and Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority (SBMA), represented by deputy administrator for tourism Raul Marcelo.

Prior to the Commodore’s Cup Regatta, the prestigious Rolex China Sea Race 2012, which is Asia’s top blue-water racing offshore sailing event, will finish at the Subic Bay Yacht Club on April 8. The race is a 565-nautical mile race from Hong Kong to Subic Bay.

Sandoval said that the two events will showcase the Philippines with its clear waters and fine sand beaches, as among the world’s top sailing destinations.

Meanwhile, Marcelo said that the regatta will not just be about sailing, as organizers have also lined up more on-shore activities in the Subic Bay Freeport.

“Of course, we will start with the required registration, and skippers’ briefing. But after that, participants and crew will be treated to a welcome party,” he said.

After the race on April 11, evening socials will be held at the SBYC, while the daily race awards and socials nights will take place at the Lighthouse Marina Resort here.

The perpetual trophy will be awarded to the over-all winners and to the champion in each racing class, including the IRC Racing Class, IRC Cruise/Racing Class, IRC Premier Cruising Class, and Cruising Class. (RAV/MPD-SBMA)

Organizers launch the Commodores’ Cup Regatta 2012 at the Subic Bay Yacht Club: (from left) Jesus Avecilla, president of The Lighthouse Marina Resort; Dennis Magbatoc, president of Subictel and Clarktel and PLDT North Luzon Corp.; Jose Mari Vargas, general manager of Subic Bay Yacht Club; Renato Castañeda, PLDT vice president and head of corporate relationship department; Federico Sandoval II, president of Watercraft Ventures; and Raul Marcelo, Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority deputy administrator for tourism.