31 January 2013

International sailing races return to Subic Bay

Subic will again host prestigious international regattas this year when the Subic Bay to Boracay Race kicks off here in February and the Commodore’s Cup promises to wow spectators and sailors alike in April.

The Subic Bay to Boracay Race, which is followed by the Boracay Cup Regatta, will be held on February 15-22. The two races are jointly organized by the Saturday AfternoonGentlemen Sailing (SAGS) group based at The Lighthouse Marina Resort here and the Boracay Cup Organizing Committee.

Organizers said the Subic Bay to Boracay Race and the Boracay Cup Regatta are acclaimed as among the best sailing competitions in Asia today. Both attract Grand Prix yachts and top-notch local and foreign sailors vying for the prestigious “Asian Yachtsman of the Year” and “Yacht of the Year” titles.

The Subic Bay to Boracay Race is a gruelling 210-nautical mile International Sailing Federation (ISAF) category 3 offshore race. It will start at noon on February 16 and will take between 17-40 hours, depending on the size of the boat and the sea and wind conditions in the route.

On the other hand, the Boracay Cup Regatta is expected to provide sailors with four glorious days of windward-leeward races and offshore races around the beautiful and exotic island of Boracay from February 18 to 22.

Overall winners in each class (racing, cruiser racing, and cruising class) of the combined Subic Bay to Boracay Race and the Boracay Cup Regatta series will bring home an impressive handcrafted solid brass trophy designed by Ferdinand Cacnio, a multi-awarded visual Filipino artist, which was officially commissioned by the provincial government of Aklan.

Last year’s overall winner of the combined regattas was Filipino businessman Ray Ordoveza on Karakoa. To give Ray a run for his money in this year’s foreseen tight race are former Yachtsmen of the Year Frank Pong on Jelik, Sam Chan on Free Fire and Neil Pryde on Hi-Fi.

Veterans and multi-titled Geoff Hill on Antipodes, Judes Echauz on his new boatCentennial II, Martin Tanco on Centennial III and Jonathan Mahoney on Zanzibarcomplete a formidable list of veterans to battle for the top division.

Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority (SBMA) Chairman Roberto Garcia said the two races boost Subic’s claim as one of the best sports tourism venue in Southeast Asia today.
- more -
“Undoubtedly, Subic is now ranked as among the premier sporting places in the world frequented by top-caliber athletes. These two regattas continue to put Subic on the sailing map, so these are very welcome events for the SBMA,” he added.

The Subic Bay to Boracay Race and the Boracay Cup Regatta are organized in conjunction with the Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority, The Lighthouse Marina Resort, the municipal government of Malay, the Philippine Coast Guard, the provincial government of Aklan, and Watercraft Ventures Corp. under the auspices of the Philippine Sailing Association.

The competitions are supported by Subic Bay International Terminal Corporation (SBITC), Standard Insurance Company Inc., Cebu Pacific, San Miguel Corporation, Tanduay, Recreational Outdoor eXchange (R.O.X.) and the Subic Bay Freeport Chamber of Commerce. (HEE/MPD-SBMA)

Sailors race against the wind in the Subic Bay Freeport during the Subic Bay to Boracay Race last year.