11 March 2013

Sante Barley rules Unilad Active Tri United 1; PLDT is 2nd

SANTE Barley Tri Team aggregated 26 hours 36 minutes and 11 seconds as it emerged the inaugural team champion of the Unilab Active Health Tri United 1 series at the Subic Bay Freeport over the weekend.

PLDT Bike King clocked 26:47:27 at second spot, with Fitness First (27:11:53) rounding out the podium finishers.

Times of Mervin Rencel Santiago, Robinson Esteves, Jojo Macalintal, Jason Paul Gaviola, Junrox Roque, Lylian Grace Banzon, Julla Timan, John Patrick Rivera, Robert Jonah Rivera and Jesus Joey Marcelo counted for the winning squad.

Pre-race favorites national team members John Chicano and Kim Mangrobang ruled the elite men’s and women’s categories, respectively, of the standard distance. Chicano covered the 1.5-kilometer swim, 40-km bike and 10-km grind in 2:02:02 and Mangrobang had 2:20:37.

“With the heart-warming turnout, we are happy to have provided our triathletes an avenue for their tune-up in the run up to the Asian Triathlon Championship next month,” said Lester Castillo, Unilab Active Health executive.

Gold medalists in the standard distance of the Tri United1 sponsored Unilab Active Health, Aboitiz Power, Enervon Aktiv, Enervon HP, I-on Energy Drink, Hydrite. Bike King, 3rd District of Bohol, Pocari Sweat, Timex, Crystal Clear purified water and Orbea included: men, 20 to 24–Mervin Rencel Santiago, Santi Barley (2:16:41); 25 to 29– Don Velasco, Secondwind Sun Broadband (2:19:04); 30 to 34–Joseph Ian Ramirez, Fitness First (2:20:53);

T12 Camelbak Tri Team C grabbed the gold medal in the relay in 2:18:42. Meralco-Smart Lightspeed A finished second in 2:21:47, with Fitness First third in 2:23:21.

Former RP team foreign coach Aussie Dan Brown (1:07:59) towed Allen Santiago (1:10:03) and Marc Altura (1:12:04) to the winners’ circle in the sprint (half of the standard distance) elite.

Unilab Active Health teammates Sam Ranque and Magali Echauz dominated the sprint teens 15 to 16 years, with respective times of 1:12:30 and 1:20:54 to lead sprint winners. Bea Hufana placed first in the 17-18 years. (Manila Standard Today)