02 March 2016

Subic to Boracay Race 2016: Jelik steals thunder from Centennial III

Top contender Jelik, skippered by Hongkong’s Frank Pong, drew first blood as the foreign entries dominated the 7th Standard Insurance Subic Bay to Boracay Race, defeating last year’s champion TP 52 Davidson Centennial III of Judes Echauz.

Reichel/Pugh 75 Jelik, last year’s runner-up, ruled the IRC Racing Class with a corrected time of 28 hours, 19 minutes and 46 seconds in the 210-nautical mile of the event presented by PLDT SME Nation, Tanduay Rum, Cebu Pacific, The Lighthouse Marina Resort, Watercraft Ventures Inc. and Seawind Hotel Boracay.

Defending champion Centennial III came in second in 30:29:37 while Smith 72-Custom Antipodes steered by Geoff Hill, took third place in 30:40:30.

The big start thus gave Jelik a solid jump-off in the combined series of the four-day Boracay Cup Regatta that started Tuesday morning from this pristine beach resort to Carabao Island off Romblon and back.

Pong, the 2013 Asian Yatching Grand Prix Skipper of the Year and 1997 President’s Cup Champion, outclassed 15 other elite sailors from Asian countries, Australia, Germany and China, including record holder Syd Fisher’s Dubios 90 Ragamuffin 90 manned by David Witt. (Tribune Wires)

The 75-foot boat Jelik.