01 June 2015

Japanese dominate Subic tablenet

Yuya Oshima and Kasumi Ishikawa dominated the tables to lead the all-Japan winner’s circle in the singles tournaments at the conclusion of of the GAC Group International Table Tennis Federation World Tour Philippine Open on Sunday at the Subic Bay Exhibition and Convention Center.

Oshima – ranked 57th in the world and second in the bracket – blanked tournament top-rank and world no. 24 Jung Youngsik of South Korea in straight sets, 11-5, 11-7, 12-10, 11-9, to cop his first senior men’s singles title in the World Tour circuit.

In the semifinals of Sunday’s late morning session, Oshima made quick work of Chinese Taipei’s Wu Chih-Chi, 11-4, 11-8, 11-6, 11-7, also in straight sets to complete his dominant outing on the tournament’s final day.

The two met each other in the qualifying rounds of the German Open last March, with the world ranked no. 24 South Korean booting out Oshima in a hotly contested match. With this weighing heavily in his head, the Japanese bet did not take this chance lightly and dominated the match from the get-go to claim the top prize.

“I played against him in Germany last March, so I made up my plan against Jung carefully in advance. So it’s a measure of revenge for me,” said Oshima. “I haven’t had good results for the past few months, so it is a great thing for me to achieve and win the title here. It will give me much more confidence.”

“I played very cool in my mind, and it helped me so much in winning the title,” he added.

In the women’s singles, Ishikawa – the tournament’s top seed – nabbed her third World Tour singles title at the expense of Ai Fukuhara in six sets, 7-11, 11-8, 11-8, 9-11, 11-5, 11-8, in a battle pitting two of Japan’s most-skilled offensive players.

Ishikawa – coming off a tough seven-set semi-final encounter against Yuka Ishigaki earlier in the day – mustered enough firepower to control her matchup against compatriot Fukuhara, who is currently regaining her form following a foot injury that washed away her 2014 campaign. (MST Sports, Manila Standard)

Women's champion Kasumi Ishikawa (JPN) and men's champion Yuya Oshima (JPN)